A Brief Thought About My Music Preferences

I’ve come to the realization that my musical taste does not reflect the typical path of others in my age group. Alongside this realization I have also failed to recall a specific musical preference before Middle School, which would have taken place in the 2000’s whereas I was born in the 1990’s and would have been influenced by the music of that time. During the MS era I tended to drift towards music by bands of the 1970’s-80’s and alternative rock bands such as Three Days Grace, Breaking Benjamin, Seether, etc. whereas my peer group would find their tastes falling closely to pop, rap, and country artists. I took notice of this fact whilst browsing TvTropes pages on music, specifically noteworthy would be the DeaderThanDisco page; this page highlights the trends that have fallen out of style over the years, I apparently missed a lot of the trends popular during the ‘90’s most likely due to certain reasons mentioned in the “My Link With Wolves” post.

Aside from noticing my previous music tastes differentiating myself from the average person of my peer group I have also noticed the trend continues with other media, but that encompasses many topics for another day.

Leave a Reply

